Manage Documents


Use the Document Center to easily create custom merge documents, upload documents from your computer, and organize them in folders, and store them in the cloud (online). Administrators can also hide, restore, or delete documents. Log in to the Document Center from any device with Internet access.

This article shows you how to:

Please also refer to these related articles:

Access the Document Center:

The Document Center:

  1. Hover over Contacts (Clients).
  2. Click Manage Documents.

Menu_Contacts.png

Create a New Document

You can create a new document directly through the Document Center. This allows you to create files on any computer and add in the merge fields directly from PerfectMind.

To access the document editor:

  1. Access the Document Center as shown above.
  2. Click New.
  3. Click Document.

The document editor appears. This editor functions similarly to Microsoft Word, Pages, and Open Office.

Upload a Document

Easily upload new documents that you have created outside PerfectMind for simple organization and storage.

To upload a new document:

  1. Access the Document Center as shown above.
  2. Click Upload — a pop-up window appears.
  3. Click Browse to select a document from your hard drive.
  4. Choose a Folder to upload to.
  5. Click Upload again at the top of the pop-up window.

Your document is now stored in the Document Center, ready for download at any time and from anywhere.

The Document Center accepts .docx, Excel, .PDF, and Power Point documents. Of these, only .docx and documents built within the application are supported for merging.

To merge data into the uploaded document, select your Merge Records then click Merge Document at the top. The merged file will now open on your computer.

You cannot use the Document Center to modify uploaded documents. To modify an uploaded document, download it, modify it, and then upload it back into the Document Center.

To learn more about Merging within documents, see Merge Contact Names with Documents.

Hide, Restore, or Delete a Document

As an administrator you can hide system documents in the recycle bin and restore them again. As for non-system documents, you can hide, restore, and delete them.

Document_RecycleBin.png

Hide a Document

You can move any document to the recycle bin by hiding it. It will stay there until it is either deleted or restored:

Document_Hide.png
  1. Access the Document Center as shown above.
  2. Click the desired document.
  3. At the top of the document, click the Hide button.
  4. In the confirmation alert, click OK.

Document_Hide_Confirm.png
Restore a Document

Ycu can restore any document in the recycle bin. The document will be returned to the same folder it came from:

Document_DeleteRestore.png
  1. Access the Document Center as shown above.
  2. In the sidebar, click the recycle bin.
  3. Click the desired document.
  4. At the top of the document, click the Restore button. You will find it in its original folder.

Delete a Document

Non-system documents can become unused or out-of-date over time and a little clean up helps to keep them organized.

To delete a non-system document:

Document_DeleteRestore.png
  1. Access the Document Center as shown above.
  2. In the sidebar, click the recycle bin.
  3. Click the desired document.
  4. At the top of the document, click Delete button.
  5. In the confirmation alert, click OK.

IMPORTANT: System documents marked with an orange lock at the top right of the icon, can only be restored. They cannot be deleted.

Word_Sample.png

Set a Default Printer

Only Windows-based computers can be set with default printers at this time.

PerfectMind allows you to set a default printer for each station within your organization, to automatically send print jobs to the same printer, without the need to select it each time. A default printer can be selected for any specific document. This means that one station can be set to default to the same printer, or a certain type of document, sent from any station, can be set to always print at a specific printer.

For example, the main service desk houses two printers. The station can be set so that all standard documents are printed at the default printer, which is set by the browser settings. Meanwhile, receipts can be set to only print on the service desk’s thermal printer.

If a computer is connected to a printer or printers, through a printer interface, admin staff may configure default printers in the following way:

  1. Click Configure Default Printers in the side panel.

Any documents, which have already been assigned a default printer, will appear on the Default Printers page.

  1. Click Add a Default Printer to select the default printer for this station.

OR

Click the Edit link beside a specific document to select a default printer for that document.
  1. From the Add Default Printer window, enter the following details:
  • Select Folder: Select the folder of the document you wish to set.
  • Select Document: Select the specific document(s) you wish to set.

If only one document exists within the folder, that document will be automatically selected. If multiple documents exist within a folder, documents may be selected using a checkbox, or select the entire folder in one click.

  • Select Printer: Select from a list of available printers, which are either local or accessible on your network.
  • Select Paper Size: Select from a list of paper sized, which is populated from those accepted by the printer.
  • Send Directly to Printer: Click this box to bypass a print preview screen and send the document directly to the printer. This is useful for receipts, which do not require final checks before printing.

In order for PerfectMind to be able to map documents and receipts to local and network printers, a service must be installed on the local computer. If that service is not detected, when admin clicks Configure Default Printers, a message will ask them to install the PerfectMind printer interface.

Assigning Permission in SmartClient

Permission to assign a default printer can be granted in SmartClient. Select the appropriate profile, review the User Service module and check, Configure Default Printers.

Add Comment

Rate this article: